San Filippo Wins Senior Division Title

Special to South Florida PGA

Courtesy South Florida PGA

NAPLES – Mike San Filippo of Hobe Sound birdied two of his last four holes Wednesday to win the Senior Division of the E-Z-GO South Florida Open at Bonita Bay Club.

San Filippo birdied Nos. 15 and 17 for a 4-under 68 on the Cypress Course to hold off three-time overall winner Alan Morin by a shot at 12-under 132. San Filippo led by four after an opening 64.

“I didn’t know how I stood,” said San Filippo, who lives in Lost Lake. “Maybe I’m fortunate I didn’t know.”

San Filippo hit a chip to 4 feet at the par-5 15th and a gap wedge to tap-in distance at the 17th for the late birdies. He missed the 18th green, but bumped a chip to 3 feet and made the putt.

Morin, a PGA Professional at The Falls in Lake Worth, still has a chance to win his fourth E-Z-GO South Florida Open title as he shares the overall lead at 11-under with Gyles Robin (64) of Veranda and Michael Kartrude (67) of the Bear’s Club. Morin, 51, has to play longer tees to compete in both divisions.

The final round of the 54-hole event is today (Thursday).

The 36-hole cut was 2-over 146.

The E-Z-GO South Florida Open is the first event run by the South Florida PGA since golf was shut down in March due to the pandemic. Social distancing and rules such as verbal scorecards and no touching of pins or rakes were enforced.

“They did a nice job of keeping us safe,” San Filippo said. “I felt comfortable out there. Kudos to the staff and the club.”

The E-Z-GO South Florida Open, run by the South Florida PGA, is supported by BioSweep Suncoast, Prize Possessions and TechnoGym.

Senior Division Results

1 Mike San Filippo Lost Lake 64-68–132 -12
2 Alan Morin The Falls Club 69-64–133 -11
T3 Mark Mielke High Ridge 70-71–141 -3
T3 Jay Horton 72-69–141 -3
T3 Eric Veilleux The Bear's Club 72-69–141 -3
6 Dennis Meyer Dennis Meyer's Golf Schoo 70-72–142 -2
7 Roger Kennedy Country Club at Mirasol 68-75–143 -1
T8 Peter Mogg Quail Creek CC 74-70–144 E
T8 Peter Oakley PGA Life Member 69-75–144 E
T8 Danny St. Louis The Breakers Rees Jones 69-75–144 E
T11 Lee Rinker Emerald Dunes 71-74–145 +1
T11 Tim Miller Vanderbilt 73-72–145 +1
T11 Brian Peaper Lost Tree 72-73–145 +1
T14 Joe Kern Hawks Nest 72-74–146 +2
T14 JC Anderson The Club At The Strand 72-74–146 +2
T14 Mark Hamstra Kelly Greens G & CC 74-72–146 +2
T14 Matthew Markle Bears Paw 70-76–146 +2
T14 John Nieporte Trump International 69-77–146 +2
T19 Jerry Tucker Jerry Tucker Golf 76-73–149 +5
T19 Craig Watson First Tee of the Palm Beaches 73-76–149 +5
T21 Chris Junk Aberdeen 75-75–150 +6
T21 Steve Waugh The Old Collier 73-77–150 +6
T23 Jan Urso Inverrary CC 76-77–153 +9
T23 Gary Baker Grey Oaks CC 77-76–153 +9
T23 Mark Smith TPC Treviso Bay 75-78–153 +9
T23 Jerry Impellittiere The Monarch 75-78–153 +9
T27 Rafael Floriani PGA Education Center 75-79–154 +10
T27 Thomas Cleaver Wycliffe GCC 74-80–154 +10
T29 Frank Clark Good Start Golf School 77-80–157 +13
T29 Bill Friesing The Country Club of Coral 78-79–157 +13
31 Allan Bowman North Palm Beach 78-80–158 +14
32 Edward Humenik Lost Tree 78-81–159 +15
T33 Tim Lonergan Royal Poinciana- Pines 81-79–160 +16
T33 Ralph Garofano Eastpointe CC 81-79–160 +16
35 Kenneth Smythe Park Ridge GC 85-81–166 +22
36 John Blau Foxfire CC – B/R 88-82–170 +26


MC John Lee Imperial GC +3
MC Michael Kostelnik Lost Tree +3
MC Kenneth McMaster Miromar Lakes +3
MC Rick Gomes Trump National GC +4
MC Daniel Heaslip Windstar Naples Bay +5
MC Bryan Snyder West Bay +6
MC Mike Melton Fairwinds +8
MC Charles Beauregard Fiddler's Creek +14
WD Tommy Hilliard -1

Leave A Reply